Wednesday, 16 May 2018

MOT Category Changes

May the 20th sees some major changes to the MOT testing system and the MOT test itself. Here is the first short explanation of one of the changes that are coming...

Firstly the update sees a change in the categories of "Pass, Fail & Advise." The principles are the same, but the new categories are as follows (with a summary of what it means):

Item resultWhat it means about the itemHow it affects the MOT result
DangerousA direct and immediate risk to road safety or has a serious impact on the environment.
Do not drive the vehicle until it’s been repaired.
MajorIt may affect the vehicle’s safety, put other road users at risk or have an impact on the environment.
Repair it immediately.
MinorNo significant effect on the safety of the vehicle or impact on the environment.
Repair as soon as possible.
AdvisoryIt could become more serious in the future.
Monitor and repair it if necessary.
PassIt meets the minimum legal standard.
Make sure it continues to meet the standard.

No comments:

Post a comment